Texas DWI Penalties
Provided by the Attorneys at Bailey & Galyen
When you have been charged with a DWI in Texas, the consequences of a conviction can vary based on a number of factors, including the percentage of alcohol in your blood and whether you are a repeat offender. This page outlines the penalties for a DWI conviction in Texas. To get help when you have been charged, contact the law offices of Bailey & Galyen or call our office at one of the numbers listed below.
At Bailey & Galyen, we aggressively defend men and women charged with DWI, representing you in administrative proceedings to address the suspension or revocation of your driving privileges, as well as the criminal hearing regarding penalties. We built our practice and reputation on a commitment to open communication, taking the time to listen carefully to all your questions or concerns. We will update you on any developments in your case as well as your options so that you can make informed decisions.
Contact our office or call us at one of the numbers listed below to set up an appointment. Your first consultation is without charge or obligation.
Our DWI attorneys protect the rights of clients across Texas, including in Dallas – Ft. Worth, Bedford, Arlington, Grand Prairie, Carrollton, Weatherford, Mesquite, and Plano, TX.
DWI Penalties in Texas
A first DWI offense is a Class B misdemeanor in Texas, with a minimum of 72 hours in jail, or six days if there is an open container in the vehicle, up to 180 days in the county jail. The fine cannot exceed $2,000, but other fees can be added, including administrative, evaluative and surcharge fees. The surcharge is $1,000 per year for three years, or $2,000 if your blood alcohol content was at or above twice the legal limit. Your license will be suspended for a year, but you can get an occupational license on an as-needed basis. You will also be required to complete a 12-hour DWI education program within 180 days or risk revocation of your license. The judge will order community service of not less than 24 hours and not more than 100 hours.
A second DWI offense is a Class A misdemeanor. You must serve a minimum of 72 hours, but can spend up to a year in jail. Fines can be up to $4,000, not including administrative, evaluative and surcharge fees. The surcharge fees are $1,500 per year for three years or $2,000 if your BAC is at or more than twice the legal limit. Your driving privileges can be suspended for 180 days to two years, but an occupational license Link to Practice Page is available on an as-needed basis. You will be required to attend a 32-hour DWI repeat offender program and must provide at least 80 but not more than 200 hours of community service.
A third DWI charge will be a third-degree felony, with a potential sentence of two to 10 years in the penitentiary, and an optional fine anywhere between $0-$10,000 plus court costs.
For all DWI convictions, probation may be granted at the discretion of the judge or jury.
Contact Bailey & Galyen
Don’t risk a greater penalty than necessary for a DWI in Texas. Contact Bailey & Galyen or call us to schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your case. We will take your call 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Se habla Español.
Skilled DWI Defense Attorneys Protecting Your Constitutional Rights
Bailey & Galyen
1901 Airport Freeway,
Bedford, TX 76021
With offices located in:
Arlington: 817.276.6000, Toll-Free: 877.345.6767 | Bedford: 817.868.5500
Dallas: 214.252.9099 | Ft. Worth: 817.263.3000
Ft. Worth (Main St.): 817-752-3310
Grand Prairie: 972.642.7900, Toll-Free: 866.380.3369
Mesquite (by appointment only): 972.682.7868 | Weatherford: 817.594.5428
We now offer a solution for individuals struggling to afford necessary legal services. Learn about the Bailey & Galyen Legal Card.
Our DWI attorneys protect the rights of clients across Texas, including in Dallas – Fort Worth, Bedford, Arlington, Grand Prairie, Carrollton, Weatherford, Mesquite, and Plano, TX.
Tags: driving under the influence, dwi penalties, drunk driving penalties, criminal law, dwi charge, united states, texas dwi, drunk driving, dwi convictions, dwi penalty, law, texas, arlington, penalties, dwi, dallas, bailey, galyen
Tests & Information
Facts & Definitions